What are chakras

Now that you know the colours of the chakras, we’re going to give you a quick crash course on what chakras really are. There’s a lot to learn about chakras (seriously… volumes and
volumes and books worth), but we’re just going to give you the very basics to get you started.
The 7 chakras are the seats of energy in your body that start at the base of your spine and travel all the way up and out the top of your head. These 7 energy centres, spin, pulse and vibrate all the time, and they help youlive a full and meaningful life. You may have heard that energy can’t be created or destroyed. So, your chakras contain universal energy that’s always been around. This energy gets
divided up in your body and is constantly growing, shrinking and moving. As it does so, your
inspiration, motivation and focus shifts. Shifts in the energy of your chakras cause your thoughts, feelings, moods, perceptions and subsequently, your actions, to change. These shifts can also attract circumstances and events into your life.For example, a shift in the energy of your sacral chakra (the 2nd one below your belly button), can make you think about and seek out pleasure, but it can also attract opportunities
for pleasure into your life.
How Energy Moves in Your Chakras
Your life is full and complex, so it’s understandable that you will want to shift your energy and focus throughout different times of the day. You can use the energy in your cakras to do this. Shifting the energy in your chakras is also helpful when your focus has been pointed in
one direction for a long time.
You may have been focused on making money or mending a broken heart. These extended periods of focus drain your energy centres.
It can be helpful to think of your energy in more practical terms. Try to imagine that you have a gallon jug of water and 7 glasses that you want to equally fill. After you’ve poured an equal amount of water into each glass, you decide that one of the glasses needs a little more water.
With no water left in the gallon jug, what do you do?
You take water from the other glasses.
This is what happens when you shift the energy in your chakras. The more energy you need in one direction of your life, the less energy you will have for the other parts.

There will always be times in your life where you need to shift energy and focus.
It’s totally ok, and the great thing is – you’ve got all the energy you need.
But when you do shift your energy, it’s important to recognize it and re-balance it when the
work is done.There are many ways to shift and balance the energy in your chakras. From guided meditations to using crystals and sound, there are plenty of effective methods.
However, understanding the colours of the chakras can actually help you choose the most effective method for your situation.
Vibrations and the Colour Spectrum
To understand the chakra colours, you first have to understand colour in general.

The 7 chakra colours follow a specific pattern – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and
violet – but, why?
You may be familiar with that pattern because of the rainbow. In fact, many children learn
the colours of the rainbow using the famous acronym ROY G. BIV.
So what do chakra colours and the rainbow have in common?
Well, they demonstrate the entire visible colour spectrum. In other words, both the chakras and rainbows contain every possible colour that we can see as humans.

When you think of the 7 chakras, instead of thinking of a red energy centre, an orange energy centre and so on, think of an entire spectrum of colour that starts at the base of your spine and goes out the top of your head.
The colours of the chakras blend together, just as they do in a rainbow. The individual chakras are cantered in specific parts of your body, but they radiate out and blend together
with the chakras on either side.
What is Colour?
The science behind colour is pretty complicated, so we aren’t going to get into specifics, but the basics are important to understand.
Colour is actually part of light. Light is made up of vibrating energy. This energy vibrates at different speeds, and all of the energy put together creates the colour spectrum.
Think of light like a musical chord made up of 7 notes.
The reason the chord sounds beautiful is because each of those 7 notes has a different sound.

Light is made up of a spectrum of colours vibrating at different speeds. If you were to play one of the notes individually, you’d hear one sound. If you look at one part of the spectrum of light, you see one colour.
Again, it’s way more complicated than the simple explanation we’re giving, but all you need to understand is that colour is simply energy vibrating at different speeds.
If you imagine the colour spectrum as a line, starting with red on the left and violet on the right, you would be looking at the lowest vibrations on the left moving toward the highest
vibrations on the right.
You may have heard people talk about “raising your vibration.”
Now that you understand how colour vibrates, you can begin to think of the energy in your body as vibrating at different speeds. The lower your vibration, the lower in your body the
energy is placed, the higher the vibration, the higher the energy sits in your body.
People talk about “raising their vibration” because they want to open up and energize the spiritual energy centres of the body near the top of the head – the crown and third eye
chakras, which vibrate at an indigo and purple colour.
Colour Psychology
So, let’s review.
Colour is energy vibrating at certain speeds.
Lower vibrations produce warmer colours like reds and oranges, while higher vibrations
produce cooler colours like blues and indigo. At the highest vibration, the two ends of the colour spectrum meet together and produce violet.
Your chakras sit on a colour spectrum inside your body, with the lowest vibrations at the bottom of your spine, to the highest vibrations at the top of your head.
Now that you understand these colour vibrations, let’s talk a little bit about how these colours affect you. This line of thinking is called colour psychology, and we don’t realize it, but colours affect our thoughts and emotions all the time.
When you think about vibrations and the chakra colours, this all starts to make sense!
Since the energy of the individual chakras is there to help you focus on specific parts of your life, and each of your 7 chakras vibrate at a certain speed, therefore producing a certain
colour, it stands to reason that seeing certain colours would influence that energy.
Of course, we see lots of colour all the time, so colour psychology doesn’t mean that every single colour will have an effect on us.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s